What’s your Kryptonite?

What is your weakness? If there is one thing you can change about yourself, what would it be and why?

These questions are often heard in job interviews and beauty pageants. No one is perfect. This phrase is a fact. We each have our own weakness to overcome, a temptation to wrestle with, a vulnerable spot that we try to protect. Napoleon is to Waterloo as Achilles is to heel as Superman is to Kryptonite.

We cannot change the fact that we can never be perfect. What grieves me is that we might be raising up a generation that glorifies weaknesses instead of working on them. For the past century, the drive to strengthen the strengths is evident. This philosophy came about because of the principle of specialization. I have nothing against this. It’s true in business. It is futile to invest time, money, and effort for me to learn to sing because I’m not cut out for that. I should instead focus on harnessing my potential. I have nothing against specialization in terms of output. Tyra Banks always tells models to embrace what makes them odd and different because these things make them unique and special. This is true. God did not create us assembly-line style. He created unique individuals and we must embrace our individuality. I have nothing against being unique. However, we should draw the line somewhere. If and when we use our imperfections as excuses to avoid correction and improvement, we rob ourselves of growth.

Is someone struggling with kleptomania entitled to a right to steal? If I struggle with pride, am I to embrace this and be proud that I do not struggle with timidity? No. Sin is sin. We should overcome it.

Is it impossible to stay pure?

Matthew 26:41 – Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.

The Bible confirms that we are weak, but note that the first part of the verse is a command to watch and pray. This verse is not a statement of fact. This verse is not an excuse. This verse is warning us to do our best because we are weak. It is not saying that it’s impossible to triumph over temptation. It’s merely saying that there is a tendency to fall into temptation. It is improbable but not impossible.

How do we stay pure?

Psalm 119:9,10 – How can a young man keep his way pure? By living according to your word. I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands.

The psalmist asked God for help in obeying His commands. The only way to avoid sin is to be so close to God that sinning is no longer an option. Jesus exemplified this. His relationship with the Father was so intense. They were so connected that Jesus knew exactly what to do. A man filled with the Holy Spirit will not succumb to sin to be satisfied because he already is satisfied. Be saturated with God’s word. Leave no room for sin.

Why is it so hard to stay pure?

Someone asked me before as to why God created us with imperfections. I remember responding that a perfect God cannot create an imperfect being. However, He designed us for a purpose and our weaknesses are not dead ends but mere tendencies that we should master in order to triumph.

My twin sister and I purchased the same type of laptop, same brand, same unit type, same specs. After three months of use, it became evident that my laptop’s body was weak. The hinge was loose. I felt disappointed because hers was okay and I felt like I got a defective unit. After a few more weeks, her battery life decreased significantly while my laptop’s battery life was good as new. The same is true for us. Honestly, I find it weird when people struggle about love matters. I do not fantasize about my dream guy or crush on guys around me. I do not waste time thinking about crushes or guys who like me. I’m not tempted to enter a compromising relationship or flirt with a guy I like. People tell me I’m strong because a lot of girls my age wrestle with this. However, I am weak in another aspect.  Paul struggled as much as we do. That’s why he said, “but I discipline my body and make it my slave, so that, after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified.” (1 Cor. 9:27) You know what your tendencies are. You can choose to veer away from sin. You can beat your body and train it to handle temptation. If you are able to develop a CIA-proof system to keep your secret sins hidden, I’m sure you can develop a strict training regimen to sin-proof your life.

Mark Lowry once joked about Christians who care about others’ sins. He said, “I shouldn’t care about your sin. I’m too busy dealing with my own sin.” That statement nailed it. The body of Christ’s war against sin is decided by each individual’s battle with his/her own sin.

Aim for purity. Work towards it. You’ve got God on your side. The instant you stop struggling to stay pure is the instant you let go of God’s hand. In this war, the lines are drawn. You’re either for God or against Him.

Superman is weakened by kryptonite. Kryptonite won’t work when it’s covered by lead. Let God lead and your kryptonite won’t cripple you.

Purity vs. Perfection: Purity is improbable. Perfection is impossible. Purity is required as a response to salvation. Perfection is acquired through Jesus’ blood.


Leave a comment